2018 - Nestlé for Healthier Kids Global Programme Officially Launched in Hong Kong

In view of the increasing worldwide problem of children obesity and nutritional imbalances, the headquarters of the Nestlé company initiated Nestlé for Healthier Kids Global Programme in 2009 in order to carry out nutrition education and physical education for children from 4 to 16 globally, with the hope of improving nutritional imbalances and children obesity.  The programme has reached 81 countries around the world since its launch and over 14 million children have been benefited from the nutrition balance education under the programme.

Extending the spirit of the global programme, since 2017, Nestlé Hong Kong has invited Centre for Health Education and Health Promotion, the Jockey Club School of Public Health and Primary Care, Faculty of Medicine of the Chinese University of Hong Kong to help recruit 536 primary four students from 6 primary schools in Hong Kong for a three-year’s programme which aims to teach students and parents step by step the correct dietary habits and physical activity knowledge in order to improve nutrition, physical fitness and daily study and rest schedule in the long run.

During the first year of the programme, the center has already conducted a "Student's Health Survey" and physical fitness tests for the participating students to obtain baseline data of the plan to be used as a reference for planning activities in the future and follow-up of the plan's effectiveness. Recently, Nestlé Hong Kong held a press conference on the results of the questionnaire survey and at the same time explained the implementation direction and related activities in the coming two years, including assisting schools in designing different physical activities, increasing the number of hours students participate in physical activities, encouraging parents to improve their children's study and rest schedule, establishing the right and healthy eating and exercise habits since childhood, etc.

During the event, representatives of teachers and students from the 3 participating schools shared their health tips on the stage, followed by a registered physiotherapist from the Centre for Health Education and Health Promotion of the Chinese University of Hong Kong led the students to perform aerobics together. The organizer also shared healthy and delicious fruits for snacks later on.

Nestlé Hong Kong is confident that with professional support of Centre for Health Education and Health Promotion of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, the programme will enable Hong Kong children to lead healthier lives, thereby achieving the long-term goal of the entire global programme — helping to improve the health of 50 million children worldwide by 2030.

Video

「雀巢健康兒童全球計劃」在香港正式展開

有鑑於全球兒童肥胖及營養失衡問題日趨嚴重,雀巢公司總部於2009發起「雀巢健康兒童全球計劃」(Nestlé for Healthier Kids Global Programme),針對全球4到16歲兒童進行營養教育及體能教育活動,希望改善兒童營養不均及肥胖等問題。計劃自推出至今,已遍及全球81個國家及城市,超過一千四百萬個兒童受惠於計劃下之營養均衡的教育。

延續全球計劃的精神,雀巢香港於2017年起邀請香港中文大學醫學院賽馬會公共衞生及基層醫療學院健康教育及促進健康中心協助於本港招募了6所小學共536 位小四學生,進行為期3年的計劃,逐步教導學生和家長正確的飲食習慣和體能活動知識,長遠改善營養、體能、作息習慣。

於活動的首年,該中心已經為參與活動的學生進行「學童健康問卷調查」及體適能測試,以取得計劃基線數據,為日後籌劃活動作為參考及跟進計劃成效。而日前,雀巢香港便就問卷調查的結果舉行發佈會,同時亦交代計劃於未來兩年的實行方向和相關活動,包括協助學校設計不同的體能活動,增加學生參與體能活動的時數,同時鼓勵家長改善子女的作息時間,從小建立正確的健康飲食及運動習慣等等。

活動中,來自3所參與學校的師生代表在台上分享健康心得,隨後由香港中文大學健康教育及促進健康中心的註冊物理治療師帶領一眾學生一同進行健身操,及後大會亦分享健康美味的水果作小食。

雀巢香港有信心在香港中文大學健康教育及促進健康中心的專業支援下,計劃能令香港兒童生活得更健康,從而實現整個全球計劃的長遠目標 — 在2030年前幫助改善全球五千萬個兒童的健康。